Managing Users in Planning Maestro

Follow
We're transitioning to a new User Interface, and are in the process of updating Help Hub content to match the new interface.

Table of Contents

Adding Users

Editing Users

Disabling Users

Enabling Users

Planning Maestro offers a better way to plan, budget, forecast, and report financial performance by enabling finance teams to see into the future, test the impact of different scenarios, and make faster decisions with confidence.

Every company using Planning Maestro has one Administrator who manages the company’s Planning Maestro account. Usually, a company has at least one other employee who needs to use Planning Maestro to enter and review data.

This document shows you, an Administrator, how to add, edit, disable, and enable users.

Info.png Please Note: New Administrators: wait to add users and user Groups until you have Profiles and Plans set up. Otherwise, new users can access the system but have nothing to review.

Adding Users

Step 1: To add users, click on Settings and select Users from the dropdown menu.

 

Step 2: The Users page opens. Click + New User.

Step 3: The New User page opens. Enter the following information in the fields provided.

 NameEnter the user’s first and last name.

  1. EmailEnter the user’s email address here. The Centage welcome email and email notifications are sent to this address.
  2. Windows User IDLeave this field blank for now. The Centage Support Team adds this user ID later.
  3. PhoneEnter the user’s work phone number here.
  4. UsernameEnter the user’s username here. A best practice is to use the first letter of the user’s first name and their last name. This username is case sensitive.

Example.png Example: Abby Accountant’s username is aaccountant.

6. Automatically Generate PasswordTo have Centage automatically generate a password for this user, leave this checkbox marked. Centage sends this password to the user in their Centage welcome email. When the user first logs in, the system requires them to change their password.

7. Password -

  • If the Automatically Generate Password checkbox is marked, this field is grayed out and unclickable.
  • If you unmarked the Automatically Generate Password checkbox, enter a password for the user here. The password must have at least eight characters, a capital letter, and a number.

      8. Confirm Password -

  • If the Automatically Generate Password checkbox is marked, this field is grayed out and unclickable.
  • If you unmarked the Automatically Generate Password checkbox, enter a password for the user here. The password must have at least eight characters, a capital letter, and a number.

 

Step 4: Indicate Group assignments. All Users are assigned to the default "User" group. 

Info.png Please Note: The system requires that all users be assigned to the User group.  You cannot remove users from this Group.

To assign this user to certain Groups (which gives the user permissions for that Group), select the Group’s name in the Available Groups section and click the Add icon ( Add.png ).

Info.png Please Note: If you are adding users for the first time, ignore the Available Groups and Assigned Groups sections for now. You can add this user to Groups later.

The Group you chose appears in the Assigned Groups section. Repeat this step to add this user to as many Groups as needed. The user has the highest level of permissions for all the Groups they belong to.

Step 4: Click Save.

The Users page reopens. The new user appears in the table.

Repeat steps 1-4 above to add the rest of your users. Each user you add receives an email with:

  • A link to your company’s Planning Maestro account.
  • The username for their account.
  • The password for their account.

New_email_1.png

Editing Users

Occasionally, you may need to edit a user’s contact information, Groups, or other information. Use the Users page to make these edits.

Step 1: To edit users, click on Settings select Users from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: The Users page opens. Find the user you want to edit in the list. In the user’s row of the table, select the Edit icon ( Edit.png ).

Info.png Please Note: You can search for employees by entering an employee’s name in the Name field in the top right of the table. 

 

Step 3: The user’s page opens. Edit the user’s contact information and Groups as needed.

  • To add the user to new Groups, in the Available Groups section, select the Group’s name and click the Add icon ( Add.png ).

A6b.png

  • To remove the user from a Group, in the Assigned Groups section, select the Group's name and click the Remove icon ( Remove.png ).

  A6c.png

Step 4: Click Save.

  • The User page reopens.
  • Your edits are saved.
  • A confirmation message appears.

Disabling Users

Occasionally, you may need to prevent one of your users from accessing Planning Maestro. You can disable users, preventing them from accessing the system, but save their accounts and information in Planning Maestro.

Step 1: To disable users, click on Settings and select Users from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: The Users page opens. Find the user you want to disable in the table. In the user’s row of the table, select the Disable icon ( Disable.png ).

A4d.png 

Step 3: A popup appears. Click Confirm.

  • The user is disabled.
  • The user disappears from the table (because the default view shows only Enabled users).

When this disabled user tries to log into Planning Maestro, they receive the following warning message.

Enabling Users

If you have disabled a user accidentally or temporarily, you can enable their account to give them access to Planning Maestro again.

Step 1: To enable disabled users, click on the Settings and select Users from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: The Users page opens. To see all disabled users, click on the Select User Status dropdown menu and select Disabled.

Step 3: Find the user you want to disable in the table. In the user’s row of the table, select the Enable icon ( Disable.png ).

Step 4: A popup appears. Click Confirm.

  • The user is enabled and can access Planning Maestro again.
  • The user disappears from the table (because this view only shows Disabled users).
  • A confirmation message appears.

3 out of 3 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.