Managing User Groups in Planning Maestro

Follow
We're transitioning to a new User Interface, and are in the process of updating Help Hub content to match the new interface.

Table of Contents

Adding Groups

Editing Groups

Deleting Groups

In Planning Maestro, user Groups are categories of users who have specific sets of permissions in the system.

You can assign users to multiple user Groups. Each user has the highest level of permissions for each Group they belong to.

By default, new Centage accounts have two user Groups:

 A5a.png

All users, including Administrators, are assigned to the User Group.

You can create new Groups to manage the level of access for any user who is not assigned to the Administrator group.

Example.png Example: You can create:

  • An Accountant Group who can access Financial Intelligence Setup, Planning, and Reports.
  • A separate Group for each individual employee, customized for that employee’s job responsibilities (not recommended for large businesses).

This document shows you, an Administrator, how to add, edit, and delete user Groups.

Info.png Please Note: Groups and Group Security are on separate pages in Planning Maestro. To edit a Group’s Security settings (user permissions), click on Settings and select Security.

Adding User Groups

After adding your users, create user Groups to organize users and assign user permissions in bulk.

Step 1: To add a new user Group, select Settings and select Groups from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: On the Groups page, click + New Group.

Step 3: The New Group page opens. In the fields provided, enter the Group’s:

  • Name – Enter a clear name you and other employees can easily recognize and understand.

Example.png Example: Managers, Department Heads, Budget Contributors, Accountants, Business Analysts, Financial Consultants, Executives, Board of Directors

  • Description – Enter a description outlining the purpose and permissions of this group.

Example.png Example: This group is for business analysts who need to review, but not add to or edit, our company’s data. The group can access Planning and Reports.

Step 4: Add users to this Group.

Info.png Please Note: If you are adding Groups to your account for the first time, a best practice is to add all your Groups first, set up Group Security, and then add users to each Group.

  • The Available Users section lists all users you can add to this Group.
  • The Assigned Users sections lists all users who belong to this Group.

Step 3: To add a user to this Group, select the user’s name in the Available Users section and click the Add icon ( Add.png ).

A3r1.png

Step 4: Repeat step 3 to add all necessary users to the Group. Click Save.

  • The Groups page reopens.
  • The new Group appears in the table.
  • A confirmation message appears.

Repeat steps 1-4 to create as many Groups as you need.

Info.png Please Note: To set up this Group’s Security and give it the necessary user permissions, click on Settings in the top right and select Security from the dropdown menu.

Editing User Groups

Occasionally, you may need to edit the name, description, or users within a Group.

Info.png Please Note: To edit a Group’s Security settings, click on Settings in the top right and select Security from the dropdown menu.

Step 1: To edit a user Group, select Settings and select Groups from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: The Groups page opens. Select the Edit icon ( Edit.png ) in the row of the Group you want to edit.

Step 3: The Group’s page opens. Edit the Group’s name, description, and users as needed.

  • To add users to the Group, in the Available Users section, select the user’s name and click the Add icon ( Add.png ).

A3r1.png

  • To remove users from the Group, in the Assigned Users section, select the user’s name and click the Remove icon ( Remove.png ).

A3r2.png

Step 4: To save your edits, click Save.

  • Your edits are saved.
  • The Groups page reopens.
  • A confirmation message appears.

 

Deleting User Groups

Occasionally, you may need to delete a user Group. You can delete user Groups without disabling the users who belong to those Groups.

Info.png Please Note: You cannot recover deleted user Groups. Before deleting a user Group, make sure that the user in the Group do not lose any permissions they need to fulfill their job responsibilities.

Step 1: To delete a user Group, select Settings and select Groups from the dropdown menu.

Step 2: The Groups page opens. Select the Delete icon ( Delete.png ) in the row of the Group you want to delete.

 

Step 3: A warning popup appears. Click Confirm.

  • The Group is deleted.
  • The Groups page reopens.
  • A confirmation message appears.

 

 

 

2 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.