Using the Clear Data Tool

Follow

The Clear Data feature is a Data Tool you can use in the Tools module. This tool enables you to clear the data from any:

  • Dimension (building block of your budget, such as a Department).
  • Dimension Member (part of a Dimension).
  • or Version (Actuals, budget for this year, etc.).

You can clear data by:

  • Simply deleting it.
  • Clearing its values only (removing amounts but leaving record names and properties).
  • Setting defaults (setting all records to their default settings).

This document shows you, a Planning Maestro user, how to use the Clear Data tool.

Please Note: The Clear Data tool helps you delete, clear values, or reset to default values faster and more efficiently than deleting individual line items in each Planning application.

Locating the Clear Data Tool

To open the Clear Data tool, open the Tools module and select Clear Data.

The Clear Data page opens. Use this page to select the data you want to clear.

Selecting Data to Clear

Step 1: Under Version, select all the Versions you want to clear data from. A Selected icon ( Little_checkmark_checked.png ) appears next to every Version you select.

Step 2: Under Account Number, select every GL Account you want to clear data from. You can also select MEATGROUPs -- MEATGROUPS to select all GL Accounts at once, or select all accounts in an account group by selecting the header for that section (such as selecting Asset to select all Asset GL Accounts at once).

Step 3: Scroll to the right and select every Dimension Member in every relevant Dimension you want to clear data from. To exclude all Dimensions and all Dimension Members, do not select anything in these sections.

Step 4: To preview the data you’ve selected to clear, click Add to Preview.

A preview of the data you selected appears below.

Removing Some Records from this Data Clearing

To remove records from this data clearing (in other words, to keep them instead of clearing them), select the records you want to remove and click Remove Selected.

Please Note: When you remove records from a data clearing, you are choosing to not clear those records. These records will not be changed or removed from your Planning Maestro account.

C1l.png

  • A confirmation message appears.
  • The records you selected are removed from the data clearing.

Removing All Records from this Data Clearing

To remove all records from this data clearing (in other words, to keep all of them instead of clearing them), click Remove All.

C1n.png

A warning popup appears. Click Confirm.

C1o.png

  • A confirmation message appears.
  • All records are removed. No records will be changed or cleared.

Clearing the Data

Now that you have selected records to clear, use the buttons at the bottom of the screen to decide what kind of data clearing you want:

  • Deleting the data (removing it completely).
  • Clearing values (removing amounts, but leaving the records’ names and properties).

Info.png Please Note: You can only clear values for line items you created in Planning Maestro. You cannot clear values from line items uploaded from your GL Source (such as your Actuals).

Use the sections below to learn more about each option.

Deleting the Data

Step 1: To permanently delete the data from the Version, Account Number, and other Dimension Members you selected, click Delete Data.

Step 2: Click Confirm.

C1y.png

The data is deleted. A confirmation message displays:

  • The number of records you cleared.
  • The number of records you did not have permission to clear.

C1z.png

Clearing Values

You can clear the values (amounts) of a set of line items without deleting their properties (names, Recognition Schedules, Allocation Methods, etc.).

Info.png Please Note: You can only clear values from Data Projections (line items) created in Planning Maestro. You cannot clear values for Data Projections uploaded from your GL Source

Step 1: To clear data values for the Version, Account Number, and other Dimension Members you selected, click Clear Values.

Step 2: Click Confirm.

C1t.png

The values are cleared. A confirmation message displays:

  • The number of records with cleared values.
  • The number of records for which you did not have permission to clear values.

C2b.png

Info.png Please Note: If you try to clear values for Data Projections uploaded from your GL Source (also called Manual data projections) you receive an error message. 

C1v.png

Setting Data to Defaults

You can use the Default Settings application in the Automation module to create default line items: for example, a default Operating Expense with a specific amount, Recognition Schedule, etc.

After creating default settings, you can use the Clear Data tool to reset a set of line items to those default settings.

Info.png Please Note: If you have not set up any Default Settings in Planning Maestro, resetting values to defaults simply sets them to the Planning Maestro defaults with amounts of zero, default Recognition Schedules, etc.

Step 1: To reset the data to defaults for the Version, Account Number, and other Dimension Members you selected, click Set Default.

Step 2: Click Confirm.

C1w.png

The data is reset to its defaults. A confirmation message displays:

  • The number of records you set to their defaults.
  • The number of records you did not have permission to set to their defaults.

C1x.png

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.