Using the Data Maintenance Page

Follow
We're transitioning to a new User Interface, and are in the process of updating Help Hub content to match the new interface.

Table of Contents

Locating the Data Maintenance Page

Clearing Source Data

In Planning Maestro, you can upload data from your company’s GL Source (an accounting system such as QuickBooks or Excel spreadsheets) into the Modeler module. In this module, you can set up that data before deploying it for planning and analysis.

Occasionally, you may upload data from your GL Source by mistake or want to remove it for some other reason. You can use the Data Maintenance page in the Modeler to clear certain Versions of data (such as last year's Actuals) while still keeping the rest of your data intact.

This document shows you, a Centage user, how to use the Data Maintenance page to clear source data from the Modeler.

Info.png Please Note:
Planning Maestro also has a Clear Data tool. The Data Maintenance page and the Clear Data tool have different uses.

  • Use the Data Maintenance page to clear Versions of data you uploaded from your GL Source.
  • Use the Clear Data tool to clear both source data and data from Planning Maestro associated with specific Versions, GL Accounts, and other Dimension Members.

Locating the Data Maintenance Page

To access your Data Maintenance page, highlight the Modeler menu on the left navigation bar and select Source Data.

The Source Data page opens., select the Data Maintenance tab.

C1b.png

The Data Maintenance page opens. Use this page to clear Versions of data from your Source.

C1c.png

Clearing Source Data

Step 1: On the Source Data page, in the Data Maintenance tab, select one of the radio buttons under Clear Data to select the data to clear:

  • Summary Data (the summary of transactions for each GL Account), or
  • Transaction Data (the full list of transactions for each GL Account).

C1e.png

Step 2: Under [Summary or Transaction] Data, click on the dropdown menu and select a Version of data to clear. You can select All Versions or just one Version.

C1f.png

Step 3: Click on the dropdown menu and select a GL Source of data to clear. You can select All Sources or just one GL Source.

C1g.png

Step 4: Under Select Date Range to Clear, select one of the radio buttons:

C1h.png

  • Clear All Data – Select this radio button to clear all data from the Version(s) and GL Source(s) you selected.
  • Clear Data only in a Specific Date Range – Select this radio button to clear data only from a specific date range.

If you select the radio button for Clear Data only in a Specific Date Range, new fields appear below. Enter the Start Period, Start Year, End Period, and End Year for this date range in these fields.

C1i.png

Warning.png Please NoteDo not enter a start date earlier than the earliest date in the Version, or an end date later than the end date of the Version. If you do, Planning Maestro resets these dates to the start and end dates of the Version(s) you selected.

Step 5: Click Clear Data.

C1j.png

Step 6: A popup message appears. Click Confirm.

C1k.png

Info.png Please Note: If this data affects any Plans or Cubes, this popup message tells you up to three affected Plans or Cubes.

  • A confirmation message appears and shows how many records you cleared.
  • After you re-deploy a Plan or Cube, the cleared data is no longer available.

Example.png Example: When you clear all data for one Version, Planning Maestro automatically removes that Version as an option on the Deployments page.

C1l.png

1 out of 1 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.